The Lion speaks and a Kingdom is created

Another fascinating series I was late to read, but still recommend no matter how old you are.

By John Irvin

I saw the movies when I was a child, but I never got around to reading the books. Again, being raised in Eastern Europe, I relied on my Granny sending my brothers and me Hardy Boys adventures and sending my Mom romance novels.

Soon after I graduated college, I got my hands on the complete collection of Chronicles of Narnia, which is printed as one big book.

It is now a part of my personal library.

Even as an adult, I enjoyed the fantasy and the adventures of the Pevensie children and the rest.

Weaving a tale of another world, CS Lewis, captivates the reader with a story of creation by Aslan the Lion. Narnia is his creation. Then the rest of the tales are the plot by evil to overtake the world and eventually the victory of Aslan at the Last Battle.

If you want a light-hearted story of in-depth tales of Earthling adventures who visit strange new lands through inter-dimensional portals, this is a series made for you.

Here’s the complete collection in one book:


          If you’re still on the edge of decision, here’s the brief description from Amazon.

          “An impressive hardcover volume containing all seven books in the classic fantasy series The Chronicles of Narnia, graced by black-and-white chapter opening illustrations and featuring an essay by C. S. Lewis on writing. This volume also contains C. S. Lewis’s essay “On Three Ways of Writing for Children.”

Fantastic creatures, heroic deeds, epic battles in the war between good and evil, and unforgettable adventures come together in this world where magic meets reality, which has been enchanting readers of all ages for over sixty years. The Chronicles of Narnia has transcended the fantasy genre to become a part of the canon of classic literature.

This edition presents all seven books—The Magician’s NephewThe Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe; The Horse and His BoyPrince CaspianThe Voyage of the Dawn TreaderThe Silver Chair; and The Last Battle—unabridged. The books appear according to C. S. Lewis’s preferred order and each chapter features a chapter opening illustration by the original artist, Pauline Baynes.”


Just a note, I have an author team helping me prepare for my debut Spring 2021 Toward the Pacific Book Tour. We greatly desire your support to help us take books out of that good ole comfort zone and find more readers.

          The more you are able to donate, the more possible it is for me to take my books on a trip across the continent and grow our reading tribe while promoting books for the public!

          So click through:

And if you know any authors, please, have them shoot me an email at I have plenty of spots open for the episodes!

If you enjoyed this post, you should sign up for my newsletter! I don’t spam and you can unsuscribe at any time. I only send out emails on Fridays. Sign up here: SIGN UP!

I’m also a Patreon artist–the cool thing about Patreon is it allows people to support artists by monthly pledges which allow the artists to have more time to work on their own passions. Here is my account: PATREON.COM. If you’d like to support me, I would be eternally grateful!

I’ve now been hosting a YouTube channel called John Irvin, Author Journey Series. Check it out at YOUTUBE.COM/AUTHORJOURNEY

Follow me on FacebookTwitter, or Instagram. Or email me at

Another note, I have to make sure to let you know, all links I use for my fellow authors’ works are affiliate links because why not?