The Chronicles of Narnia

by C. S. Lewis

Published by Harper Collins

A review by John Irvin


“Remember that all worlds draw to an end and that noble death is a treasure which no one is too poor to buy.”

            Yes, this is the complete box-set of the seven books in the Chronicles of Narnia. Why did I decide to review the box-set? Because I found the link I’m providing you with will take you to a cheaper sale! Yes, there were a few other box-sets running twice as costly as this set and I found that this set is only a few dollars more than the actual individual books. So you get the full work for just a little bit more. Was that a thank you, John? Awww you’re welcome. I love y’all—and I’m not just saying that, I mean it.

            So, Chronicles of Narnia, seven books, all narrating the roles different children play in an unfolding history—a history not of our own world, yet very similar.

            What I found was, even though it is focused more toward children or teenagers, I enjoyed it immensely. I read it in my mid-twenties. I’d seen the movies, both BBS and the newer ones—add in, I’m still peeved at the discontinuing of the newer ones, but such is life. We move on.

            This series has a warm place in my heart and forever will—although, I still feel the pang of losing some of my friends. Yes, like real life, you do feel heartache, but then, you do learn many lessons.

            The Pevensie children have no idea what it is about when they step through that Wardrobe in Spare Room. A fantastic adventure awaits them, their cousins, friends, as they follow the lead of Narnia’s Creator, Aslan, while he brings about his plan to vanquish the evil that plagues the realms.

chronicles of narnia cs lewis

I know, I did something abnormal here. I usually give a brief description then give my opinion. But this series was just too amazing I had to give more of my opinion. Here I’ll give some one-to-two sentence descriptions of the summary for each one below.

And as I’m writing this I suddenly have an idea. I’m going to include links to the individual books too, just in case you simply want to try just one of them out and now the whole series. So, you can click on the book titles and they’ll take you there. But if you do want the box-set, click on either the picture above, or the link in bold after these descriptions, or the link all the way at the top. I’ve made it easy for ya.

1. The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. The four siblings, Pevensies, get their first introduction to the land of Narnia during the tyrannical reign of the White Witch. They help Aslan, the Great Lion, defeat her in a massive battle.

2. Prince Caspian. The Pevensie children return to Narnia, finding out that much more time has passed there than in our world. They must help Prince Caspian take control of the throne that is rightfully his.

3. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader. Lucy, Edmund, and their annoying brat of a cousin, Eustice, all return to Narnia to join Caspian in an adventure that takes them far across the open sea where they must find the seven lost lords.

4. The Silver Chair. Eustice and Jill are fairly new to the strange world, Caspian is old and frail. He’s also missing his only son. The two children must go on a quest to rescue the lost prince and stumble across many malevolent evils—one in particular, more beautiful than any they’ve ever encountered.

5. The Horse and His Boy. Set way before the Pevensies even arrive, this tale takes us on a narrative starring two runaways. They attempt to escape their terrible lives, they end up being forced into a horrible battle that has everything to do with the fate of their world and their lives.

6. The Magician’s Nephew. This is actually recongised, in some canon, as the first book in the series. It covers the creation of Narnia while following two friends who are thrust into a parallel realm and nearly enslaved by an evil sorceress.

7. The Last Battle. This book is just what its title says—the finale. Almost everyone is back, returning to Narnia for the last showdown. Taking on an apocalyptic scene of biblically-themed rhetoric, the ending unfolds itself in an awe-inspiring conclusion.

            But click here and you get the full set for much cheaper than you would if you were to buy individually: CHRONICLES OF NARNIA.

As a side note, I am required to inform you that my links provided are affiliate links to the said products. Hey, I’ve got to pay the bills somehow. I hope this is understandable!

Another side note, I’m also a Patreon artist–the cool thing about Patreon is it allows people to support artists by monthly pledges which allow the artists to have more time to work on their own passions. Here is my account: PATREON.COM. If you’d like to support me, I would be eternally grateful!

Follow me on FacebookTwitter, or Instagram. Or email me at